Psonnets on the Psalms – Pt. 5

Posted: 12/07/2011 in Church, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Psalm 51 is probably the psalm that I have repeatedly found myself most drawn and connected to.  I don’t know what that might say about me, other than that I probably sin a lot.  For a while, I even had this psalm memorized.  I have forgotten it by now.  But this psalm is such a deep lament of sin, yet somehow it is filled with hope.

While praying this psalm tonight, I am reminded of my need of cleansing. I have yet to know what it would be like to be “whiter than snow” and completely free from sin. These words attributed to David became my words once again.

 

“A Sonnet for Psalm 51”

 According to Your gracious spirit be
Compassionate and blot away the sin
That marks and covers every part of me
And cleanse away the sickness from within
Iniquities against Your holy name
Are vile, evil, wicked, but You judge
With justice saving me from all the blame
A verdict undeserved yet not begrudged
I beg, “Create in me a cleaner heart.
Renew in me a steadfast spirit too
And open up my lips to come apart
Declaring all the wondrous work You do.”
The only offerings that You won’t despise
Contrite and broken hearts of sacrifice

Comments
  1. Matthew says:

    Amen, thats all I have to say.

Leave a Reply

