Psonnets for Psalms – Pt. 3

Posted: 12/05/2011 in Church, Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

Here’s a lament…

“Sonnet for Psalm 6”

I melt the pillow with my tears tonight
And hope a cleansing in that place it brings
Vexation fills and wastes my eyes. The sight
Of absence of your presence slightly stings
My bones with terror, stricken, start to shake
I call, expecting you to hear my cry
In desperation, mercy heals the ache
In finding your salvation ever nigh
My enemies will lose the higher ground
And instantly frustrated turn away
For you have heard the subtle, weeping sound
Of weakened men approaching latter days
And worry not, for life is but a thread
As we await the praises of the dead

Leave a Reply

