Psonnets on the Psalms – Pt. 1

Posted: 12/04/2011 in Church, Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

Over the past few weeks, I have been reading the book of Psalms and writing sonnets based off of these Psalms.  For those of you who don’t know, sonnets are very complex and have a very unique structure, meter, and rhyming pattern, which, after you read a few, you’ll catch on to.  Since I haven’t blogged in a LONG time, I thought I’d share this work that I have been doing. And since this is the first entry, I think it’s appropriate that we start with the very first Psalm.

“Sonnet for Psalm 1”

A farmer plants his grains among the field
He toils through the growing, not in vain
And winnows when the time has come to yield
The chaff is blown beyond the harvest grain
And I, like chaff, have left the threshing floor
Beyond the harvest I have gone astray
And you, the farmer, always wanting more
Replanted me along the narrow way
With living streams of water flowing by
I grasp for soil deepening my roots
I reach for sunlight, growing ever high
Until the season comes for bearing fruits
And you, O Farmer, kept this chaff aliveAnd found a way to make the harvest thrive

Comments
  1. Matthew Jacobs says:

    Yeah J.E., you should blog more. Being 613 miles (I checked) away, it’s hard to hear whats going on in your life. Awesome poetry though, I’ve always been really impressed at how well you write poems and the intense way you express them. I can’t wait to see you again.

    Love ya bro!

Leave a Reply

