“Nachtmusik”

Posted: 12/11/2010 in Poetry

This is originally inspired by my buddy, Jer, so props to him for the inspiration.  Nachtmusik is a German musical term translated as “night music”.  It’s the word used for a serenade.  Thanks for reading!

 

Sing me anything tonight.
I’m so tired that I can’t sleep sonatas
And I ache arpeggios on the
Sharp staccatos of your soul

And they say B natural or you’ll go out of tune
But you’re so out of my range.
So we’ll run in cut time, but
Pianissimo child, because
We must not wake the bass clef.

Then We’ll fly forte on the wings of dawn
Til the overture is undergone.

And though it won’t be legato
We’ve got the vibrato
To major the mode
And to tune in the tone
So I’ll consider the cadence
With adagio patience
And I won’t forget to hold your song in my heart

I’ll sing you anything tonight
You’re so tired, so I’ll hold you like a fermata
And I’ll sing you this contata
As we drift camminando

They tell me hold the note and just let it ring
But I just wait on your pitch
We’re singing new octaves now
Dolcissimo child because
We’ve found a new serenade

We’ll be up on the down beat
For the sun to rise
And the keys will change, and we’ll hit those highs

When our only guide is the melody
Through this three part harmony.
And as we fight the flats
And destroy the dissonance

Please ignore my falsettos
As we wind through intermezzos
Just don’t forget to hold this song in your heart

Comments
  1. tmtimbro says:

    that was really pretty. i liked it a lot

  2. Olivia says:

    Very well expressed Dear.. Wonderfully written..
    Hugs xox

  3. Olivia says:

    It has been a while, hope that you have a promising and fulfilling 2011 ahead.
    We have enjoyed your support in 2010, a great big thanks here, cheers!

    We will have our 17th potluck beginning this Sunday, Hope to see you in.
    http://www.jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    our theme this week is: “the road ahead”, but you are welcome to share old poems or poems unrelated to our theme..

    The more you share, the happier we are…
    You have been a gem to our community, keep shining with your fabulous talent and have fun!

  4. beautiful wriitng….

    our potluck week 17 is open now, welcome linking in 1 to 3 old poems as the first time participant…

    Enjoy a lovely Monday!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

