The Potter and the Clay

Posted: 01/12/2010 in Philosophy
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes it’s really hard for me to struggle through the fact that God just does whatever he wants. He will never act outside of his character, but he can choose to let something happen or he can choose to stop it. Why this is, I don’t think we can ever fully comprehend, but the truth of the matter is that God knows so much more than we do.

The other night, I was wrestling with a situation in my life and seeking God’s guidance for what to do. I was pondering why all this had to happen, and so I looked to my Bible for answers.

Because I was so frazzled, I didn’t know where to turn or what to do. So I just flipped open my Bible to whatever random page opened up and found myself in Romans 9, and this is what I read:

“But, my friend, I ask you, ‘Who do you think you are to question God? Does the clay have the right to ask the potter why he shaped the way he did? Doesn’t a potter have the right to make a fancy bowl and a plain bowl out of the same lump of clay (Romans 9:20:21)?'”

This wasn’t exactly the comforting verse I was looking for.

I was expecting more of a “the Lord is always with you” kind of thing, and so I got frustrated. I said, “I hate the book of Romans,” and I flipped the pages of the Bible to another book that I might be a bit more palatable.

So the pages landed on Isaiah 45:9-13, and this is the very first thing I read:

“Israel, you have no right
to argue with your Creator.
You are merely a clay pot
shaped by a potter.
The clay doesn’t ask,
‘Why did you make me this way?
Where are the handles?’
Children don’t have the right
to demand of their parents,
‘What have you done
to make us what we are?’

I am the Lord, the Creator,
the holy God of Israel.
Do you dare question me
about my own nation
or about what I have done?
I created the world
and covered it with people;
I stretched out the sky
and filled it with stars.”

Well, it’s kind of hard to disagree with two books of the Bible that say almost the exact same thing. And it’s undeniable that God was trying to tell me something, and I think he was speaking this to me —

He is in charge. I’m not.
He knows what he’s doing. I don’t.
Whether or not I like what is happening is completely irrelevant,
But if I trust Him, I should know it’s for the best.

He is the potter. You are the clay.

Rejoice in that today.

Leave a Reply

