Your Life as a Movie

Posted: 12/27/2009 in Philosophy
Tags: , , , , ,
Imagine your life as a story. Each moment is a scene in a film or a book, and every decision, movement, and line in that scene matters. It all builds the character and progresses the story. 

What story are you telling?

And is that story worth knowing about?

Last night was Dec. 25th, 2009. It was Christmas, and I hope I always remember that day. My day was filled with presents and family and food. As the day was ending, I curled up next to a book on the couch. It was A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller.

In this book, Miller radically restructures his life when he gets invited into writing the screenplay of his life for an upcoming movie. He began thinking about his whole life as a long movie, and he began to notice that there were lots of boring and uneventful scenes. Much of his life, in fact, was a story with unresolved subplots and no action.

I assume both your life and my life will be struck with the same dilemma that Miller had as we reflect upon our lives.

As I was reading, I began wondering not only why my life wasn’t full of these magnificent moments of day-ceasing, but I began to question the how.

How can I make my life a story worthy of being told?

So I stopped reading. I put on some warm clothes, put the song Hoppipolla by Sigur Ros on my iPod, stepped outside into the snow and began to dance down the middle of the street at midnight. I jumped over sidewalks, I spun around, I laughed, and I was completely uninhibited. Then I began to run. I sprinted to this open field and spun in circles staring up at the snow drifting on my body until I collapsed on my back watching the flakes dance. I got up and screamed at the top of my lungs and heard my echo bounce back from the empty middle school adjacent to the field. I ran to the edge of a ledge on the field and when I got there, I just started bawling. I began to weep, not because I was sad, but because I was alive.

I don’t know if I’ve ever done that before. I don’t know if I’ve actually breathed a breath of a full realization that I was living. It was beautiful.

I pray I always remember that night.

In Jeremiah 29:11, God speaks (more or less), “For I know the story I have for you, a story to prosper you and not to harm you, a story with hope and a future. Then You will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

There is this beautiful and hopeful story that God sees in you. It’s filled with adventure and redemption. We don’t find this story by sitting passively watching TV and waiting for God to do something. God says this all comes into being “when you seek Him will all of your heart”.

Do something incredible today. Stop reading this and do something without any inhibitions or fears. Put all of your heart into it, and it will forever change your life. Make your story worth telling, because it’s a part of God’s story.

Leave a Reply

